My new adventure: A blog about my journey to a happier and healthier life

If I had all that, I would – automatically – be happy.

When I was a growing up, I didn’t think that health was one of (if not) the most important thing. Like so many others, I thought it would be sooo cool to be rich and famous. A loving husband and cute children, with whom I would live in a nice home, a job where I made good money, and vacations on which I travelled the world, were on my imaginary wish list as well.

Except for getting tonsilitis on a fairly regular basis and the usual children’s diseases, I always was a healthy child. For being happy, I can’t exactly say the same. Don’t get me wrong. Overall, I had a great childhood. My parents loved me (and still do), although I had times when I was convinced they didn’t, or at least not us much as they loved my brother or sister. We lived in a spacious house, wore nice clothes, had more than enough food on the table, and went on vacations. What more did I want? For example, I didn’t want to wear glasses! That was an absolutely big one for me. I prayed to God for a miracle, because I hated to be different. And of course they made me ugly. (In those years it was unimaginable somebody would wear glasses without needing them, like, as an accessory!) On the other hand, I wanted to be special, but all the important roles were already taken; my older brother was the son and heir, and my younger sister the pet of the family. Nevertheless, my childhood is a big part of who I am today, and I can honestly say, that I LOVE MY LIFE!

Life is a ‘work in progress’, and I believe in life-long learning and growth.

On this blog, I want to share bits and pieces of it. You will be reading stories – funny and sad ones -, you will be listening in on my thoughts on family, love, and life in general. You will learn that I am passionate, not just about my family and a healthy lifestyle (Yes, health is soooo important!), but also about books (and won’t make a secret of which ones I like or don’t like), food (I actually intend to share some of my treasured recipes with you!), personal values and global issues. You will find out which items on my imaginary list became reality and which didn’t.

Also, I hope my blog inspires you to think about YOUR life. What was on your wish list when you grew up? How did it change?

It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are. (e.e. cummings, American poet) 

Let’s en-courage each other to grow and and become ourselves. It neither makes us happy, nor is it healthy, if we are the person others want us to be, instead of being authentic. Let’s embark on this journey together.

I would love to hear from you!

By the way, I changed my mind. Being rich and famous is not at the top of my list anymore. But I am sure you already guessed that!

Leave a Reply

